Will Over-The-Top (OTT) messaging services like WhatsApp replace SMS?

Will Over-The-Top instant messaging services replace SMS? Whatsapp, Ping, Touch / PingChat, Kik, Cnectd, Skype: when it comes to instant messaging there is plenty of choice. And IM is hugely popular among savvy smartphone users. It would be interesting to see penetration rates among other user demographics. Feel free to send to @NetsizeGuide or @NetsizeCorp.

Security and privacy are yet another topic. What does your favourite messenger state about it in its terms & conditions? How about delivery reliability?

Sure, IM is free. But instant messaging still has some way to go and grow to become as ubiquitous, and perhaps even as versatile, as SMS text messaging. Do you share this view? Will IM replace SMS? Or will they continue to coexist, each having their own type of use and addressing a different need?

Take our poll and let us know.

Related articles

One Response to Will Over-The-Top (OTT) messaging services like WhatsApp replace SMS?

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided
    to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wat too taoe a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not evben using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

What is your opinion?